Skip to main content

MIT150 Infinite History interviews transcripts, 2007 - 2012

 Series — DigitalStorage: 2014_049acc-c9afa5d9-db48-4a5e-89a1-cc597bca79c2

Scope and Contents of the Collection

This series contains transcripts of oral history interviews conducted between 2007 and 2012 for the MIT 150th anniversary Infinite History project. Transcripts are digital-only. Interviewed individuals include: Harold (Hal) Abelson, Deborah G. Ancona, Karen W. Arenson, Lawrence S. Bacow, Lotte Bailyn, David L. Baltimore, Cynthia Barnhart, Angela M. Belcher, Leo L. Beranek, Suzanne Berger, Timothy J. Berners-Lee, Sangeeta N. Bhatia, Donald L.M. Blackmer, Gene M. Brown, Vladimir Bulovic, Claude R. Canizares, James A. Champy, Yung Ho Chang, A. Noam Chomsky, Phillip L. Clay, Isaac Colbert, Brit J. d’Arbeloff, John M. Deutch, Peter A. Diamond, John DiFava, Mildred Dresselhaus, John Essigmann, Robert R. Everett, Robert M. Fano, Woodie C. Flowers, Jay Forrester, Jerome I. Friedman, Joseph G. Gavin, Jr., Martha L. Gray, Priscilla K. Gray, Paul E. Gray, Ann M. Graybiel, Paula T. Hammond, Ellen T. Harris, Wesley L. Harris, Daniel E. Hastings, George N. Hatsopoulos, William J. Hecht, Susan Hockfield, Nancy H. Hopkins, H. Robert Horvitz, Tyler Jacks, Shirley A. Jackson, Howard W. Johnson, Wolfgang Ketterle, Philip S. Khoury, John G. King, Daniel Kleppner, Robert S. Langer, Jr., Richard Larson, Frank Thomson Leighton, Steven R. Lerman, Richard K. Lester, Walter H.G. Lewin, Barbara Liskov, Andrew W. Lo, Thomas L. Magnanti, Patrick J. McGovern, James D. McLurkin, Dana G. Mead, Robert C. Merton, David A. Mindell, Marvin Minsky, William J. Mitchell , Shigeru Miyagawa, Fred Moavenzadeh, Ernest J. Moniz, Walter E. Morrow, Jr., Joel Moses, Carl Mueller, Nicholas Negroponte, Dava J. Newman, John A. Ochsendorf, A. Neil Pappalardo, Paul L. Penfield, Jr., James M. Poterba, William F. Pounds, Robert M. Randolph, Robert Redwine, John S. Reed, L. Rafael Reif, Edward B. Roberts, Daniel Roos, Candace Royer, Donald R. Sadoway, Paul A. Samuelson, Bishwapriya Sanyal, Lawrence Sass, Stuart Schmill, Richard R. Schrock, Jeffrey H. Shapiro, Phillip A. Sharp, Robert J. Silbey, Isadore Singer, Eugene B. Skolnikoff, Kenneth A. Smith, Merritt Roe Smith, Robert M. Solow, Raymond S. Stata, Charles Stewart III, Catherine N. Stratton, Glenn P. Strehle, Subra Suresh, Lester C. Thurow, Samuel C.C. Ting, Glen L. Urban, J. Kim Vandiver, Charles M. Vest, Rebecca M. Vest, Emily V. Wade, Mary Frances Wagley, D. Reid Weedon, Jr., Sheila E. Widnall, Frank Wilczek, Rosalind H. Williams, Kathryn Willmore, Gerald L. Wilson, J. Meejin Yoon, Barrie R. Zesiger, and Maria T. Zuber.


  • 2007 - 2012


Conditions Governing Access

Most materials in this collection are restricted for 20 years from their date of creation. The contents of folders that are more than 20 years old are open. Series 4: MIT150 Infinite History interviews transcripts is fully open for access.

Conditions Governing Use

Some transcripts impose use restrictions. Contact the archives for more information. Access to collections in the Department of Distinctive Collections is not authorization to publish. Separate written application for permission to publish must be made to Distinctive Collections. Copyright of some items in this collection may be held by respective creators, not by donor of collection.


14.8 Megabytes (130 digital files)

Language of Materials


Existence and Location of Copies

Digital video and transcript files for interviews found in this series are available on the Infinite MIT website.

Repository Details

Part of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Libraries. Department of Distinctive Collections Repository

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Libraries
Building 14N-118
77 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge MA 02139-4307 US