Skip to main content

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science records

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: AC-0547

  • Staff Only
  • Select item to request

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection includes information on the PDP-1 computer, as well as general information about the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Department of Electrical Engineering in the form of memos, publications, lists, graphs, statistics, forms, and correspondence. Recordings of seminars and colloquiums sponsored by the department from 1996, and 2000-2004 can be found in Series 4. Also included in the collection are administrative files of department heads Louis D. Smullin,1966-1974, Wilbur B. Davenport,1974-1978, and Gerald L. Wilson, 1978-1981.


  • Creation: 1969 - 2004


Access note

This collection must be reviewed to identify any restricted material before access can be granted. Please submit your requests at least ten business days before your desired visit to allow time for this review. An archivist will respond within five business days to let you know whether your requested material is open. For complete information on this policy, see our Statement on Accessing Institute Records.

Conditions Governing Use

Access to collections in the Department of Distinctive Collections is not authorization to publish. Please see the MIT Libraries Permissions Policy for permission information. Copyright of some items in this collection may be held by respective creators, not by the donor of the collection or MIT.

Biography or Historical note

The degree program in Electrical Engineering at teh Massachusetts Institute of Technology began in 1882, although an official Department of Electrical Engineering was not established until 1902. In 1975 the department was renamed the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. Detailed histories of research and teaching activities can be found in the following publications: A Century of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT, 1882-1982, by Karl Wildes and Nilo Lindgren; and The Electron and the Bit: EECS at MIT, 1902-2002, edited by John V. Guttag.

Heads of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science: Louis Duncan (1902 - 1904) Harry E. Clifford (acting, 1904 - 1907) Dugald C. Jackson (1907 - 1935) Frank A. Laws (acting, 1918 - 1919) Vannevar Bush (acting, 1929 - 1930) Edward L. Moreland (1935 - 1938) Harold L. Hazen (1938 - 1952) Gordon S. Brown (1952 - 1959) Jerome B. Wiesner (acting, 1959 - 1960) Peter Elias (1960 - 1966) Louis D. Smullin (1966 - 1974) Wilbur B. Davenport, Jr. (1974 - 1978) Gerald L. Wilson (1978 - 1981) Joel Moses (1981 - 1989) Paul L. Penfield, Jr. (1989 - 1999) John V. Guttag (1999 - 2004) L. Rafael Reif (2004 - 2005) W. Eric L. Grimson (2005 - )


11.4 Cubic Feet ((10 record cartons, 3 manuscript boxes, 2 half manuscript boxes) )

Language of Materials



Materials are stored off-site. Advance notice is required for use.

Processing Information note

Some collection descriptions are based on legacy data and may be incomplete or contain inaccuracies. Description may change pending verification. Please contact the MIT Department of Distinctive Collections if you notice any errors or discrepancies.

Preliminary Inventory to the Records of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Ready For Review
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Libraries. Department of Distinctive Collections Repository

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Libraries
Building 14N-118
77 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge MA 02139-4307 US