Skip to main content

Balkan Peninsula

Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings
Scope Note: Library of Congress points to Balkan Peninsula (authorized Heading), from Balkans (a reference). 'Balkans, also called Balkan Peninsula, easternmost of Europe’s three great southern peninsulas. There is not universal agreement on the region’s components. The Balkans are usually characterized as comprising Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, and Slovenia—with all or part of each of those countries located within the peninsula. Portions of Greece and Turkey are also located within the geographic region generally defined as the Balkan Peninsula, and many descriptions of the Balkans include those countries too. Some define the region in cultural and historical terms and others geographically, though there are even different interpretations among historians and geographers....' accessed 09/06/2021

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Binder 16, ca. 1980s-1990s

 File — Box 34
Scope and Contents

Title on spine: "Travel (1) Scandinavia. Belgium, France, Italy, Spain, Ireland, Yugoslavia, Chile, Peru [...]." Classification code on spine: 318. Notes: Contents may not reflect locations listed on spine. Contains images of Ottoman bridge at Mostar and images of Venice.

Dates: ca. 1980s-1990s